My Favorite: Pregnancy Books

18 Jun

A few friends have asked what pregnancy books were the best to read- there are SO many bad ones that it is nice when someone else filters them for you. When I announced I was pregnant, I received a stack of books. A stack that had been handed around among my friends, growing by one or two books at every turn. I devoured them all – wanting to know every last thing I could. It turns out that only a few were worth my time and here they are:

Penny Simkin is a local childbirth expert and she wrote the one and only guide that I feel was comprehensive without a lick of judgement or patronizing wording. Pregnancy, Childbirth and the Newborn is basically the only book you need. She also wrote a book for the father-to-be called The Birth Partner which again was the only words written for the father that didn’t sound moronic. My friend Chris wrote a great post about the condescending tone that most parenting books use when talking about the Father’s Role. Who writes these books? And the better question, who is buying them?

Anyhoo, I digress. My all time favorite pregnancy book for your mind, body and soul is called Bountiful, Beautiful, Blissful by Gurmukh. While I never got around the doing the actual breathing exercises, the words are calming enough. It is a beautifully written book that alleviates any worry or stress you may have about your upcoming birthing experience. It was just a really nice read and one that I would recommend if you are into yoga and such.

If you are planning on having a home birth or a drug-free birth, Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth is a classic. It is written in another lifetime entirely but illustrates the best variety of birth stories I have read so far. It is a magical book full of the raw knowledge that can only come from birthing hundreds of babies on a farm. She literally changed the way the midwife profession is perceived in the States. I am super excited to see the recent documentary about The Farm.

Once you have that gorgeous little nugget of a baby, you will be faced with a gazillion decisions. One of the first will be to vaccinate or to not vaccinate- or to vaccine a little. I read The Vaccine Guide and thought it to be a pretty thorough guide. It gives you the history of each vaccine and spells out what they are all used for. You can make your own decision thereafter.

That’s it folks. That is all I needed to read to make confident decisions. Quality or quantity…then you can spend those last precious pregnant moments relaxing on the couch or walking through the woods. Enjoy!

Top Photo  Bottom Photo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

