Following the Guidelines – Ayurveda & Me

2 Jul

I am having a bit of trouble following some of the recommended eating guidelines from my Ayurvedic Doctor. It’s not necessarily what I am supposed to be eating, although I am missing my fancy cheeses and artisan bread, but it’s more about how I am supposed to be eating.

Here are some examples:

  • Eat in a peaceful, quiet setting, either alone or with people that you feel relaxed around. It’s important to never eat when you are upset. (Seriously? With two toddlers I wouldn’t call our meal times peaceful…productive and entertaining but not by any means in a quiet or calm manner. More of like a rock concert on acid – could be a good show or a total bummer.)
  • Eat sitting down. Do not eat while performing another activity. It is best not to talk while chewing your food. (Uh huh.)
  • Eat moderate amounts at a moderate pace, taking time to enjoy your food. (I look more like a starved hyena ripping through his kill – always looking over your shoulder for predators wanting to snatch your dinner)
  • Meditate on your food, taking the time to be grateful for nature’s gift of life. (I’m not even going to go there)
  • Sit quietly for a few minutes after each meal. (When pigs fly)

 

3 Responses to “Following the Guidelines – Ayurveda & Me”

  1. kathydwyer717 July 2, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    Hilarious – well from my point of view.

  2. Ali Wright (@athomewithali) July 3, 2012 at 6:03 am #

    I would find those guidelines impossible too! 🙂 During a meal I have to get up to re-fill drinks, get towels to mop up spilt drinks etc etc.
    Thanks for visiting my blog on my 1st blogoversary. I am now following you via fb.

  3. Raluca | WhatWouldGwynethDo July 5, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    Ha ha ha!

Leave a Reply

