The Beginner

26 Jul

Gnats.

Nasty little buggers.

I found this out the hard way. A naive farmer I may be for wearing shorts and a t-shirt to pick raspberries at dusk. Yes, I was constantly swatting at what I thought were mosquitos but those darn little insects that I thought were harmless fruit flies were the real biting monsters.

My neck and shoulders illustrate my pain. Big, nasty bumps. Even behind my ears. And they itch like crazy…and not just for an afternoon like those kind mosquitos. No, these have itched now for an entire week. I don’t even want to talk about their physical longevity.

Now I look like a night ninja when picking berries after dinner – boots, jeans, hooded sweatshirt with a scarf wrapped over my face just below the nose line. They cannot scare me off. I will win, my friends, I will win.

Raspberry Sorbet from Saveur

1 1⁄2 cups sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 1/4 lb. fresh raspberries (about 5 cups)
2 tbsp. fresh lemon juice

1. In a 2-quart saucepan, bring 2 cups water and sugar to a boil, stirring to dissolve. Reduce heat to low and simmer, without stirring, to make a syrup, for 5 minutes.

2. Pour the syrup into a medium bowl, stir in vanilla extract, and transfer to the freezer to let chill for 15 minutes.

3. Purée 1 lb. of the raspberries (about 4 cups) with the syrup in a blender or food processor until smooth. Scrape the purée through a fine sieve into a bowl; discard the seeds. Stir lemon juice into the raspberry purée and pour it into a 2-quart ice cream maker. Freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions until almost set but still a little slushy, about 25 minutes.

4. Add remaining raspberries (about 1 cup) and continue freezing in the ice cream maker for about 5 minutes. Transfer the sorbet to a plastic container and freeze until completely set, about 1 hour.

MAKES ABOUT 5 CUPS

 

 

Leave a Reply

