It Ain’t What it Used to Be

8 Nov

Vacations. Ok, so I’m still stuck on this thought.

Aside from the sleep depravation that is still haunting us (why does it take a toddler so long to catch up to the damn time difference!?), the days are much better – full of playing on the beach and swimming in the ocean. But it dawned on me yesterday as I was trying to read a book on the beach and my son was pouring sand on top of my head, I may need to amend my idea of vacation.

A vacation is no longer the stuff of late mornings, no work, lazy beach days full of swimming and reading more than a few sentences at a time and quiet, relaxing dinners. They are no longer a welcome break from your normal, everyday life. They are merely your life in a different locale – you still have the 3 year old climbing in your bed at 2 in the morning or the nap schedule to adhere to or the late afternoon meltdowns to sooth. While I may sound tremendously spoiled (as I type in the 85 degree goodness that surrounds me), it is a slightly disappointing realization – you simply cannot escape your exhausting quotidian routine.

Alas, the upside is that on vacation you get to do said routine (once the kids get on the right time schedule, ahem) on the slopes or on the beach or in a foreign land with strange foods and interesting scenery. You are exposing your kids to different walks of life. Shaking things up a bit. In the end it’s all merely for the benefit of the children – I am so not enjoying endless swimming in ocean and pool, eating fish and pineapples daily or that damn sweet tropical air.

This is worth the long flights and the disrupted sleep schedule.

I think.

 

2 Responses to “It Ain’t What it Used to Be”

  1. godmadeknown November 10, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    Ooh dear! I’m a little sad your vacation wasn’t more fun for you. If any of your readers are planning a vacation on the Big Island (sorry, I don’t know much about Maui), I live here with our four little boys on a very tight budget so we know all the fun, free, family activities and cheap ways to eat island style. Contact me via my blog and I’ll give you some tips!

  2. Chris Axling November 14, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

    I like Webster’s first definition of ‘vacation’: a respite, or time of respite, from something. I think it’s obvious who ‘something’ is/are to a parent of toddlers, so to take said ‘somethings’ with you to a far-off land is really not a vacation, but a trip.

Leave a Reply

